top of page

Vegan Food Guide for a Weekend Trip to Savannah

This past weekend my family ventured down to Savannah, Georgia for a quick weekend trip. Savannah is a cute little town known for its beautiful historic architecture and some good ol' southern charm (meaning lots of seafood and other fried meats). It's not exactly the easiest place for a vegan to chow down at, but it's definitely do-able.

There are a few vegan places tucked in between the southern style and seafood restaurants, but since I am the only vegan in the family we chose not to eat there. Although I was kinda bummed about missing out on some vegan cafes I still found great food at the places we did go to, not to mention an amazing cinnamon bun that I'm still drooling over.

I'm sharing a little guide of some vegan options in the restaurants we hit up in Savannah and Tybee Island for anyone in a position similar to mine! I hope this is helpful :)

 

Sunrise Restaurant is an American cafe located on Tybee Island. We visited for breakfast, during which time they serve a huge array of everything from pancakes to a breakfast hotdog. There are two vegan meals on the menu, but you can create a pretty substantial meal just from choosing some side items. I ordered the Hash Brown Deluxe and was actually surprised by how much I liked it considering it only consists of greasy hash browns and a few veggies thrown in.

Raw Ingredients is a sushi joint on Tybee Island that has tons of items on the menu and gives you the option of making your own rolls, bowls, and salads and has prices ranging from $4 to $15. For vegans they offer cucumber rolls, avocado rolls, and veggie rolls which is what I ordered. The veggie rolls have spinach, cucumber, avocado, tofu, and pickled radish and were super yummy! This is definitely my favorite place on the island!

Kayak Kafe has two locations in Savannah and is an awesome option for both vegans and meat eaters, with prices ranging from $6 to $13. The menu offers several vegan items, and many things can be made vegan upon request. Our waiter was glad to answer any questions I had about what was in certain items, which always make dining out so much easier. After going back and forth between pretty much everything on the menu I decided on the tofu and vegetable burrito which is normally made with mozzarella but I substituted that for vegan cheese. I was super pleased with my meal but I think I would try the organic tiger tofu tacos if we visit again.

Wet Willies is a bar with two locations in Savannah and one on Tybee Island, and a lot more around the country. They're predominately known for their slushy-like alcoholic drinks, but being under 21 I didn't try any of those, and their food menu consists of typical bar fare. My family grabbed some appetizers and sides here for a pick-me-up after a long afternoon of touring a college. I ate some french fries and chips and salsa, both of which were yummy, but they also have two salads that sound pretty good (you would just have to ask for no cheese).

Little Duck Diner is a spot in downtown Savannah with an adorable vintage atmosphere. They offer breakfast all day and a dinner menu consisting of everything from fancy grilled cheese to tacos, shrimp 'n' grits to a bi bim bop bowl. Prices range from $8 for some breakfast items to $20 for a new york strip. I wasn't feeling that great when we ate here so I went light with avocado toast (no cheese please) and a side of fries. There was about 10 pounds of avocado on the toast, which I'm not mad about, and it was mixed with onion and tomato, and I poured on

some tabasco sauce. I was really pleased with my meal and it actually filled me up. My mom ordered the Chartreuse Salad and loved it, and it should be vegan but you would have to ask about the dressing.

The Sentient Bean was our last spot on our trip and is a cafe near Forsyth Park in Savannah that I may or may not have been begging to go to so that I could get a pastry. They offer a great coffee menu, serve breakfast all day, lunch and dinner from 11-9, and have tons of pastries and sweets, many of which are vegan. Just about everything is under $10, and there's a wide range of meals for everyone, including a lot of vegan options (yesss!!). I had a super hard time deciding what to order but eventually

landed on a vegan breakfast burrito, a soy latte, and of course a vegan cinnamon roll for later. Everything was amazing, the burrito had a stupidly good house made "sausage" that I am obsessed with, and the cinnamon roll was to die for. You definitely want to hit this spot.

bottom of page